Decisions, Decisions…

As writers, we usually have pages of ideas waiting to be written. These can be small ideas that need to be fleshed out big time or plot ideas. How do we choose which idea to write for NaNo? How do we make decisions ever?

I had a few ideas that I was tossing around to write for this NaNoWriMo. One was a contemporary novel that I barely had a clue what it was about. However, I love it. I love the themes and the characters and the plot and everything. I want to write it. Another is the sequel to LUCID, which I have a full outline for. Another was an idea that I don’t have anything for, I just know it has to do with fairies. Another was my personal journey through thyroid cancer. Ultimately, I decided (after much complaining) to write the sequel to LUCID.

I am still on the fence about this. There’s so much talk about writing the novel you want to write and doing what you want to do, etc. But the sequel is fleshed out with a 7 page outline and I know the characters. It makes sense to write it for NaNo. That’s what I keep telling myself as I stare longingly at my contemporary novel idea and sulk.

I guess what I’m saying is, for NaNo, don’t pick the idea on motivation and inspiration. Both of those feelings are fleeting. Don’t believe them- are those the things that are going to get you writing at 1AM? (Please, don’t do this.) No, they’re not. What gets me writing at 1AM is just forcing myself to do it.

Around the second week of NaNo, people start to doubt themselves. Pick a story that you don’t doubt. You fleshed it out, you know what the story is about, and you’re going to write it whether or not you feel a damn ounce of motivation.

Complain on Twitter all you want, but that shiny new idea needs to be ripped apart, put back together, and ripped apart again before you write it. I’ll complain with you.

Until next time, Allison 🙂

3 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions…

  1. I love this. So many people are always so distracted by the shiny new projects because they seem perfect compared to the things they have already started to outline. Well, the reason they seem so perfect is because they haven’t started to dive into it yet. Everything is flawless until it is written down on paper -or in my case Scrivener file!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. I love an idea, but that’s because I haven’t sat down and really thought about the conflicts yet— and the glaring plot holes just waiting to be found! 🙂

      Like

  2. This is happening to me. I had an idea with created cover ready for Nano but now I have a new idea I want to explore because it excites me and makes me want to know what happens and a author and reader. With Nano less than 3 days away I have to figure things out quick. Thank you for the post

    Like

Leave a Reply

