NaNoWriMo Tag!

NaNo is in 3 days! Can you believe it? I’ve changed what I’m writing at least 3 times… I guess I won’t announce it until NaNo starts. In spirt of NaNo, I’ll be doing the NaNoWriMo tag! Thanks to Jessi Elliot for bringing this tag to my attention 🙂

How many times have you done NaNo?

This question is tricky because I never completed NaNo until Camp NaNo this year. I think my first attempt was in 2012.

How did you first find out about NaNoWriMo?

I’m not sure. I think I was roaming the internet for some writing inspiration and came across it. Afterwards, I cringed and laughed at the idea that I could possibly do it.

What was the title of the first novel you attempted during NaNoWriMo?

This is sickening. I was working on the same idea I am now! But the title wasn’t LUCID. I think it was CONTROLLED. I wrote about 11,000 words my first time trying NaNo.

Give a one sentence summary of what you’re writing this year.

Dreams aren’t just dreams; dreams are reality.

(I HATE SUMMARIES AND YOU WANT ONE SENTENCE?!)

What is the best writing advice you’ve been given?

The most recent writing advice I was given has had a lot of impact on me and it’s actually from Jessi! While CPing (is that a word? Now it is), she said, “…. take out anything that doesn’t add to her active journey.” That has really helped me narrow down my story and start thinking about the plot.

Did you ever take a year off from NaNo?

Yes.

What is your biggest inspiration when figuring out what to write?

My dreams and day to day life. Inspiration can come from anywhere if you’re paying attention 🙂

Read the first sentence of one of your novels.

“I don’t think there’s a way out,” said the girl next to me.

Why do you love writing?

I love writing because it transports me somewhere else, as does reading. I’ve loved writing for as long as I can remember. When I was recovering from thyroid cancer, writing saved me. I put so much energy into writing when all I wanted to do was breakdown.

That’s it, folks! I’m ~kind of~ ready for NaNo and excited to jump into it. To see Jessi’s writing tag, click here. 🙂

Until next time, Allison

Leave a Reply

