Book Review: Six Of Crows & Crooked Kingdom

Hey everyone!

I’ve never formally reviewed a book before. I decided that in the new year, I would review some of the newer books I read. I was lucky enough to be gifted both Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom for Christmas. I was super excited because I had heard so many good things about the books! Lets jump in.

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: 3/5 Stars

Yes, I gave both of the books 3 out of 5 stars. I’ll start with the good stuff. πŸ™‚

Pros: Leigh’s writing is amazing. Someone would say something or think something and it would really hit home for me, and I always love that in a novel. A quote that you carry with you even after you’ve finished the novel because it resonated that much with you.

The complexity and diversity of the characters boggled my mind. There wasn’t one character who I felt was meh. I’m not a fan of alternating POVs (typically), but this was an exception. The characters backstories were incredible and explained why they acted the way they did. Their pasts  were clearly well thought out and that translated into an amazing character story.

*SPOILERS* Kaz and Inej. Matthias and Nina. Wylan and Jesper. I loved them all. Their incredible backstories made me love them even more.

Cons: I’ll start with the part that bothered me the most about Six of Crows. This point doesn’t apply to Crooked Kingdom because I was immersed in the world by then. However, when I began reading SoC, I had no idea what the hell was going on. I love being thrown into a story, but there was little to no explanation of… anything. I repeatedly asked myself if I was missing pages or I had to have skimmed over something. That’s how confused I was at some points.

The plot was way too thick. This kind of goes along with the first point. When I read a story, I like to be able to guess or at least follow what is going on. Literally… couldn’t even comprehend. I couldn’t form a guess because I was lost. Maybe I missed something. But I just felt there was so much going on that it was hard for me to follow. If the plot was given more time to develop, maybe, or a character explained how the hell that just happened, maybe I would have understood. Which brings me to my next point:

How did any of this happen? I understand that when a reader reads a book, there has to be a little bit of a wow factor. That for one or two things that happen in the novel, the reader can think it’s amazing and need no explanation for how it was completed. However, the reader is forced to believe these seventeen year-olds pulled off these impossible feats time and time again. Eventually, I didn’t believe it at all. How could Kaz do all of these things… with little to no explanation of how he did them? Eh, I didn’t buy it.

*HUGE SPOILER* Uh… I lied earlier. This was the thing that made me almost put down the book and not finish it. This… scene… made me so unbelievably angry. I rarely DNF a book, but guys. Matthias death wasn’t totally UNNECESSARY and didn’t help the plot AT ALL. Not to mention it was completely rushed and he died at the hands of a fourteen-year old. Are you f-ing kidding me? He deserved better than that! Nina and Matthias deserved better than that. His death was purely for shock factor, in my opinion, and that is not okay.

In the end… I rated both these stories 3/5 because Leigh’s writing saved the novel as well as her attention to the character’s backstory. Without these lovable and imperfect characters, I wouldn’t have been able to finish either of these books. I would absolutely pick up other novels written by Bardugo. She’s a fantastic writer, but this duo wasn’t for me.

What did you think of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom?

Allison πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Six Of Crows & Crooked Kingdom

  1. Good points! I totally agree with you–Matthias’ death was so rushed I just didn’t get enough time to feel bad about it, and the lack of planning (for the heist) is also another major plot flaw; some explanation would’ve added an extra layer of wow factor to the story. But personally, the writing itself was so strong, I ended up not minding too much;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

