Voices of YA tag!

Shocking (but not shocking at all), another tag! I love tags, so forgive me.

Thank you to the wonderful Caitlin  for creating this tag! Also, thank you Alex for tagging me. Go check ’em out! 🙂

ABOUT THE WRITERS:

What draws you to YA?

YA draws me in for a lot of reasons. I guess the number one reason is the imagination behind it, how everything can be done what seems like hundreds of times but there somehow is always a twist. YA helped me through a rough time and I know it has helped others as well.

Describe your writing process. Do you like outlines and structure or seeing where the story takes you?

I used to just see where the story took me, but that never resulted in a finished book. Finally for Camp NaNo 2016, I plotted and finished my first book, LUCID. That was really awesome and it taught me that I need an outline. I outlined my next book and wrote it in November NaNo 2016, THE KING’S DAUGHTER. That’s my current project! All in all, I love outlines because I never sit down and thing, “But what next?” I always have the basic plot and that’s what first drafts are all about. I can add the bulk of it later, but I’m never staring at a blank page.

How long have you been writing? Where are you in your journey?

I’ve been writing since… 2007? I used to write short stories. I never attempted a book until 2012 and failed miserably. The first time I sat and wrote a book in its entirety was July 2016.

Right now, I’m on my second round of beta readers for THE KING’S DAUGHTER. I’m hoping to have this round of revisions done in time for Pitch Wars! Super excited and nervous. I’ve read this book to the point of memorization, spent countless hours talking to my CP about it (sorry, Jessi!), and it has seen two rounds of betas. Writing is so hard! 😛

What do you need to write? Coffee? Music?

I need my laptop, and that’s about it. I don’t like coffee (whoops). If anything, I love to drink Pepsi, but that isn’t just reserved for writing. I can’t write with music on, though I sometimes draw inspiration from it!

If you give one piece of advice to another writer, other than “don’t give up,” what would it be?

Still cheesy but… write. Just write the damn words. Maybe they’re not good words. In fact, you’re probably thinking, “Allison, my words suck.” Guess what? Everyone’s first draft is a garbage fire. Something that really stuck with me was something I saw on Twitter once. (I’m paraphrasing here.)

“My draft is a mess!”

“So is a cake until it’s baked and decorated :)” – Coryl

So maybe that’s not my advice, but it’s damn good advice.

ABOUT THE BOOKS:

What book still has you reeling from it’s plot twist? No spoilers, please!

Oh boy. Maybe it’s not a plot twist, but I’m still reeling from the end of Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

What books are you anticipating for this year?

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare. I’m so behind with my TBR that that’s all I can think of right now.

In your opinion, which YA book/series has the most unique premise?

I fail at this question. There’s so many, and I try not to focus too much on if a book is similar to another.

I love the Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead. It’s my favorite! I like that we get to see the amazing fighters become amazing. 

What is your all time favorite quote from YA lit?

From Vampire Academy, of course:

“If I let myself love you, I won’t throw myself in front of her. I’ll throw myself in front of you.”

Now I’m like, actually crying. I love those books so much! I can’t stop reading the quotes. Help me.

What book do you hope will have a movie adaptation?

None of them. Leave the beautiful books alone.

 

And that’s the end of the tag! I’ve seen so many people tagged in this tag… so, like always, I tag anyone who wants to do it. Tag me in it so I can see your answers 🙂

Allison

Leave a Reply

